top of page

"It's Freaking Bats" DIY Halloween Garland

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

Halloween is my favorite time of the year! I absolutely love spooky szn. The weather, the autumn leaves falling, pumpkin everything, and endless decor...it's all so spooktacular!


By now I'm sure y'all have seen the bat garland that is selling at a giant retailer, however, I took one look at it and thought, "hey, I can totally do that myself". So sure, you can go buy it and I totally support that decision, but making your own version is so much fun!


Now that it's officially spooky szn, I have my pumpkin spice latte (decaf because I'm pregnant) in hand, and my pumpkin vanilla candle burning in the background, let's get to crafting!!! I promise this easy DIY project is freaking fangtastic!!!Anyone else love a good pun?


I am a sucker for a good hidden Mickey, so of course my bats are Mickey bats. This craft is so easy and doesn't take a lot of time. For this project, I decided to make the bats out of stiff felt because it's easy to find, can be purchased in bulk, and is nearly indestructible when my toddler gets ahold of it (which she will).


Below, I will show you how to make your own fun felt Mickey bats.


SUPPLIES:


-Stiff black felt


-Scissors


-Your choice of yarn or something to hang the bats with


-White Sharpie or other marker


-Paper for Mickey bat templates


-Hole punch

STEPS:

Create Templates So simple...print a Mickey bat and cut it out. Well that's the easy way to do it...my husband is super talented, so he freehanded a bat and I cut that out. Team work makes the dream work, amiright? Keep in mind that these can be any size you'd like. Mine are about the size of a real bat. I'm not 100% for sure on sizing, I'm too lazy to measure them. lol

•Trace the Shapes on Felt and Cut Them Out I chose black felt, but you could really use whichever color fits your aesthetic. Someone please make some rainbow bats!! Don't forget that you could always create other shapes too like Mickey pumpkins or ghosts!!! Oh my gourd, I'll have to make those next!


•Cut Holes In each wing, use the hole punch to cut a hole that you'll then use to put the yarn through.

•String the Bats on the Yarn This is pretty self explanatory. You can now string as many or as few bats together, depending on how long you'd like your garland.

•Hang Your Bats That's it! You successfully made some super fangtastic garland that will definitely put you in the spooky szn spirit!

Check out my Instagram (@peytoneverafter) for a super cute reel on my creative process.


Now hang your bats, grab your PSL and cozy sweater, and turn on some Halloween movies...it's spooky szn, y'all!!!


Thank you so much for your support. If you post pictures of your creations, tag me so I can see them on IG.


With love and pixie dust,

Peyton

456 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page