top of page

DIY Mickey Pumpkin

Y'all, I am obsessed with Mickey pumpkins! I don't know what it is, but it just isn't Spooky Szn until I walk down Mainstreet USA and see those Mickey pumpkin wreathes! Luckily I was able to do so before they were replaced by the Cinderella carriages, or I just might have skipped Halloween and jumped right into Christmas!!


I wanted to bring some of the magic home, so I created a super simple Mickey pumpkin to display. You can definitely do this with real pumpkins, however, I chose fake pumpkins so I could up-cycle my decor year after year. Maybe next year I will try my hand at an actual wreath.


Real pumpkins would be so fun for this craft, however, I live in Florida...when carving pumpkins they don't last very long in our hot October humidity. Now if I still lived in Colorado, I would totally try this with real pumpkins. If you choose to do so, please send me pics, I would LOVE to see. I bet they would be gourdgeous.


SUPPLIES

  • 2 small Styrofoam pumpkins

  • 1 large Styrofoam pumpkin

  • Carving tools

  • Yellow paint/paintbrush

  • Wax paper

  • Battery operated candle

  • Marker

  • 2 metal skewers



STEP ONE

First you will need to print a Mickey pumpkin face to trace onto the pumpkin or you can freehand. Thanks to my amazing husband for free handing the face.



STEP TWO

Now it's time to carve. Carefully carve a large square in the back of the pumpkin so you can place a light inside. After this, proceed to carving the face of the pumpkin. You can also use felt, paper, or paint for the face if you want a no carve project. I wanted my pumpkin to light up at night, so I carved him. Funny story...my pumpkin wasn't hollow, it was full of Styrofoam. I had to move the carving outside because it got messy!



STEP THREE

Paint the inside of the face and pumpkin yellow. You will also need to paint the wax paper yellow at this time. The wax paper will be used to conceal the candle. You are more than welcome to paint the outside of the pumpkins any color you'd like, however, I was pleased with the orange tones of the pumpkins I purchased, so I chose not to paint them.



STEP FOUR

Use the metal skewers to attach the ears.


STEP FIVE

Add the battery operated candle and you're done! You now have the cutest pumpkin on the block. He will display nicely inside or outside.




Orange you pumped to try this fun DIY project on your own now??



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page