top of page

30 Things I Learned Before I Turned 30

It was the end of a decade, but the start of an age-Taylor Swift


Well here it is...30. Today is the start of a new decade for me. My twenties were weird. They were happy, sad, confusing, lonely, amazing, adventurous, and full of love. My grief was insurmountable, but so was my healing.


I made good and bad choices. I met a lot of people...some who broke me, others I broke. I walked away from those who tried to take everything from me. I also encountered amazingly kind hearted people along the way, who have filled my heart with joy, and I will cherish them forever. I learned who my real friends are and their love is irreplaceable.


I took huge leaps of faith, I succeeded, and I failed. I left my home state of Colorado for adventure in Texas, only to leave Texas to live happily ever after in Florida. I made dreams come true and I accomplished a number of goals. The setbacks were numerous, but not debilitating.


I lost myself. I gave me to the wrong people...friends, guys, coworkers, etc. I searched for the real me for a very long time. Sometimes I thought I found me, but then I’d lose me all over again. I met people who helped search for me and as my twenties slipped away, at the very last second, I found myself.


Ultimately, I built a life I love. I’m a friend, neighbor, colleague, adventurer, sister, wife, and mama. Most importantly, I’m me...and no one will ever take or change that again.


So in my first few hours of being 30, I want to share 30 things I learned by 30. Most of these lessons I learned when I was 29...because 2020 was a weird year that led to a lot of personal growth. So here they are, 30 things I’ve learned, in no particular order, with absolutely no explanation.


30 Things I Learned By 30


1. You are doing just fine

2. It’s totally ok to outgrow friendships

3. The importance of drinking water

4. Know what makes you happy

5. Stop hating your body

6. The importance of politics

7. The value of honesty

8. Toxic friends are not friends at all

9. Don’t spend time punishing yourself

10. Taking vitamins makes you feel better

11. Don’t sacrifice yourself for anyone or anything

12. If you don’t like your job, leave

13. Therapy isn’t a bad thing

14. Walk your own path-it’s your life

15. When you do something, do it for the right reason

16. Cherish the people you love

17. Be grateful

18. Make sure people you value know you appreciate them

19. Do not seek revenge...your enemies will expect attacks but never compassion

20. Saying no is 100% ok

21. If you don’t like where you are, move

22. Know Your personality type and use it to your advantage

23. Move past childhood scars

24. Don’t waste your time wishing for someone else’s life. Enjoy yours.

25. It’s okay to put yourself first

26. You don’t have to forgive people, even if they’re sorry

27. People can’t read your thoughts

28. What others think of you is none of your business

29. Failure is ok and totally normal

30. Buy the expensive thing you’ve wanted and enjoy it


Now it’s time to say adios to my twenties. Goodbye and so long to the negativity and everything and everyone who doesn’t deserve to get carried over into my thirties.


Cheers to my twenties. RIP.


107 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page